door to door sales laws indiana
Door to door sales laws indiana for the city badge and the consent
Knockdesk is field sales software for teams that sell in person. A crew that looks up door to door sales laws indiana is reading the home solicitation sale in IC 24-4.5-2-501, the home consumer transaction in IC 24-5-10, and the city badge. This page is general information, not legal advice. The table is the statute map, not a ruling.
Book a Walkthrough| Fact | Finding | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Home solicitation or cooling-off | IC 24-4.5-2-501 defines a home solicitation sale as a consumer credit sale of goods, other than farm equipment, or services, when the seller personally solicits the sale, including a solicitation over the telephone, at the buyer's residence and the agreement is given there. IC 24-4.5-2-502 says the requirements of 16 CFR 429 must be met for the cancel period, the notice, and the form. Separately, IC 24-5-10-4 defines a home consumer transaction as an unsolicited consumer transaction that results from direct contact at a place other than the supplier's permanent place of business, and it excludes contact conducted and consummated entirely by mail or telephone. IC 24-5-10-8 lets the consumer cancel when the cash sales price is at least $25 and the written notice is given before midnight of the third business day. | IC 24-4.5-2-501 and IC 24-5-10 |
| In-person recording consent | IC 35-31.5-2-176 defines interception, for IC 35-33.5, as the intentional recording or acquisition of the contents of an electronic communication by a person other than a sender or a receiver, without the consent of the sender or the receiver. The definition includes a computer or a fax. It does not state a rule for an in-person talk that is not an electronic communication. The in-person rule is not stated publicly in that definition. | IC 35-31.5-2-176 |
| Employee monitoring notice | Not stated publicly in the interception definition. That definition does not state an employee electronic monitoring notice. | IC 35-31.5-2-176 |
| State solicitor or peddler license | Not stated publicly on the home solicitation chapters for a statewide solicitor or peddler license. A solicitor permit indiana is the city card in the table. A peddler license is not a Knockdesk product. | IC 24-4.5-2-501 and IC 24-5-10 |
The bond
The police badge and the controller permit
Teams that ask about door to door solicitation laws indiana are reading city rules. A solicitor permit indiana for an uninvited residential sale is the Carmel police door-to-door vendor license. Evansville's peddler permit covers house-to-house and door-to-door offers. South Bend's peddler and canvasser fee is on the business licenses page. Fort Wayne's published permit is a transient merchant permit, and that page does not call it a home door-to-door badge. Indianapolis publishes the No-Solicitation list and does not publish a home solicitor application on that page. The badge does not show which pins on the turf were Not Home.
| City | Permit office | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Indianapolis | Department of Business and Neighborhood Services. The No-Solicitation list, also called the No-Knock list, prohibits commercial solicitation at the listed residential addresses. The page says the list is for the calendar year and the resident registers again for the next one. A separate home door-to-door solicitor application is not stated on that page. | https://www.indy.gov/activity/sign-up-for-the-no-solicitation-list |
| Fort Wayne | Fort Wayne Police Department transient merchant permit. The page lists $250 when the applicant does not submit a current Indiana retail license or not-for-profit proof, says the permit is not transferable, and caps the activity at 120 consecutive days in a calendar year. The page does not call the permit a home door-to-door solicitor license. | https://www.cityoffortwayne.in.gov/1723/Transient-Merchant-Permit |
| Evansville | City Controller, through the license applications page. No person shall hawk or peddle at private dwellings, or offer for sale from house to house or door to door, or take orders for immediate or future delivery, without a peddler permit. The page says the permit is annual. | https://www.evansvillegov.org/city/department/division.php?structureid=224 |
| South Bend | Business licenses page. A peddler sells tangible commodities from house to house. A canvasser or solicitor takes orders for future deliveries from house to house and not from an established place. The page lists the peddlers and canvassers fee at $50 and points to Section 4-43. | https://southbendin.gov/department/community-investment/business-development/doing-business/business-licenses/ |
| Carmel | Carmel Police Department door-to-door vendor license for uninvited in-person selling of commercial products, services, or property on residential property. The page lists a 10 day license at $15, a 120 day license at $90, and a 1 year license at $180, plus a $50 application, a $500 surety bond, and an in-person appearance for each solicitor. Hours on the page run from 9 a.m. to dusk, and a posted no solicitation sign still applies. | https://www.carmel.in.gov/government/departments-services/police/permits-forms-and-fees/door-to-door-vendor-license |
The list
Indianapolis publishes the address list
Indianapolis is the city in this set that publishes a resident no-knock address list. Carmel's page honors a posted no solicitation sign and does not publish that kind of address file. The Department of Revenue still says a seller of tangible personal property registers to collect sales tax.
| Fact | Finding | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Known no-knock registries | Indianapolis publishes a No-Solicitation list, also called a No-Knock list, and commercial solicitation is prohibited at the listed residential addresses. Not stated publicly as an address registry on the Fort Wayne, Evansville, South Bend, or Carmel pages. Carmel says a posted no solicitation sign still applies. | https://www.indy.gov/activity/sign-up-for-the-no-solicitation-list |
| Sales tax for in-home sales | The Indiana Department of Revenue says a business that sells goods or tangible personal property registers to collect a seven percent sales tax and gets a Registered Retail Merchant Certificate. | https://www.in.gov/dor/i-am-a/business-corp/sales-tax/ |
The skip
The No-Solicitation list stays off coverage
Indianapolis keeps commercial solicitation off the listed addresses. Put those addresses on Do Not Contact so they stay off the knock list and do not count toward coverage. Carmel's police badge is not a Knockdesk product. Name the territory, cut the turf, and log Start Knock or Log visit, including Not Home. Onboarding does not block knocks. The score does not replace the logged outcome.
Knock log
Sample
- M418 Oak Ave2:14 PMMaya Chen · North turfAppointment
- J22 Harbor Rd2:41 PMJordan Hale · North turfNot home
Related
Keep going from the Indiana credit code
- Back to laws
The hub holds the other states and the national topics.
- Full desk on pricing
Full desk is on the pricing page.
- Local permit rules
The badge is the city's. It is not a Knockdesk product.
- Cooling-off rule
IC 24-4.5-2-502 points the credit-sale cancel at 16 CFR 429.
- Compliance steps
The cancel notice sits beside the logged visit.
- Illinois permits
The home cancel and the city cards.
- District of Columbia
The District is the city, and DLCP publishes the Solicitor activity.
FAQ
Frequently asked questions
What are door to door sales laws indiana on this page?
IC 24-4.5-2-501 and 502 for a consumer credit home solicitation sale, IC 24-5-10 for a home consumer transaction of at least $25, and the city badges. This is general information, not legal advice.
What is a solicitor permit indiana?
A solicitor permit indiana is the city card. Carmel publishes a police door-to-door vendor license. Evansville and South Bend publish house-to-house permits. A statewide solicitor license is not stated publicly on the home solicitation chapters.
What are door to door solicitation laws indiana?
Door to door solicitation laws indiana are those city offices, plus the Indianapolis No-Solicitation list. Fort Wayne's published permit is a transient merchant permit and does not call itself a home door-to-door badge.
Can an Indiana crew record the talk at the door?
The interception definition covers an electronic communication when the recorder is neither sender nor receiver and lacks the sender's or receiver's consent. It does not state an in-person rule. Knockdesk recording is still opt-in. Consent comes before the file. Skip recording still logs the outcome.
Is this legal advice?
No. This page is general information, not legal advice. Open the code or the city page, then talk to counsel for your crew.
How much does Knockdesk cost?
Full desk is on the pricing page. A free trial is not open.
The coverage
Walk the Indiana log and the skipped addresses.
We will walk how the team logs the Indiana visit, including Not Home, and how the Indianapolis list stays off the knock count. Full desk is on the pricing page. This page is general information, not legal advice. A free trial is not open.
Book a Walkthrough