door to door sales laws district of columbia
Door to door sales laws district of columbia for the Solicitor activity and the consent
Knockdesk is field sales software for teams that sell in person. A crew that looks up door to door sales laws district of columbia is reading the home solicitation cancel in D.C. Code 28-3811, one-party consent for a wire or oral communication in D.C. Code 23-542, and the Solicitor activity the Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection publishes. The District is the city. This page is general information, not legal advice. The table is the statute map, not a ruling.
Book a Walkthrough| Fact | Finding | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Home solicitation or cooling-off | D.C. Code 28-3811 defines a home solicitation sale as a cash sale or a consumer credit sale of goods, other than farm equipment, or services, when the seller personally solicits at or near the buyer's residence and the agreement is given there. The buyer may cancel until midnight of the third business day after the day the buyer signs an agreement that complies with the section. Until the seller complies, the buyer may cancel in any manner. The buyer may not cancel when the buyer asks for goods or services without delay because of an emergency, the seller has made a substantial beginning, the goods cannot be returned in substantially as good condition, and the buyer has signed a separate waiver under the caption WAIVER OF RIGHT TO CANCEL. | https://code.dccouncil.gov/us/dc/council/code/sections/28-3811 |
| In-person recording consent | D.C. Code 23-542 covers a wire communication and an oral communication. A person not acting under color of law may intercept either when that person is a party, or one party has given prior consent, unless the purpose is a criminal or tortious act or any other injurious act. Section 23-541 defines oral communication as a talk uttered with an expectation it is not subject to interception, and wire communication as a talk that uses a common carrier wire. The rule is not phone-only. | https://code.dccouncil.gov/us/dc/council/code/sections/23-542 |
| Employee monitoring notice | Not stated publicly on D.C. Code 23-542. That section does not state an employee electronic monitoring notice. | https://code.dccouncil.gov/us/dc/council/code/sections/23-542 |
| State solicitor or peddler license | The District is the city, so there is no second city government. DLCP publishes a Solicitor business activity with a digital passport photograph, a certificate of occupancy or home occupation permit, a police criminal history report, a solicitor surety bond, and tax registration and a clean hands certificate. The page lists a 2-year fee of $99 and a 4-year fee of $198. A solicitor permit district of columbia is that published DLCP activity, and a peddler license is not a Knockdesk product. | https://dlcp.dc.gov/page/solicitor-0 |
The District
One city holds the Solicitor activity
Teams that ask about door to door solicitation laws district of columbia are looking at one city, not five city governments. A solicitor permit district of columbia is the Solicitor line under General Sales and Services at the Business Licensing Division. Charitable Solicitation is a different activity on that same page. The clean hands certificate still does not show which pins were Not Home.
| City | Permit office | Source |
|---|---|---|
| District of Columbia | Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, Solicitor activity. The page lists the photograph, occupancy or home occupation permit, police criminal history, surety bond, tax registration, and clean hands certificate, plus the 2-year and 4-year fees. | https://dlcp.dc.gov/page/solicitor-0 |
| District of Columbia | Business Licensing Division. Solicitor is listed under General Sales and Services. Charitable Solicitation is listed separately under Charitable Services. Applications go online. | https://dlcp.dc.gov/service/business-licensing-division |
| District of Columbia | D.C. Code 47-2835 is marked repealed on the Law Library. There is no ward licensing office on that page. The live Solicitor activity is the DLCP page. | https://code.dccouncil.gov/us/dc/council/code/sections/47-2835 |
The register
No address registry on these pages, and sales tax on delivered goods
The Solicitor page and the tax FAQ do not publish a no-knock address list. The Office of Tax and Revenue still describes who collects sales tax on tangible personal property delivered in the District.
| Fact | Finding | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Known no-knock registries | Not stated publicly on the DLCP Solicitor page. That page does not publish a no-knock address registry. | https://dlcp.dc.gov/page/solicitor-0 |
| Sales tax for in-home sales | The Office of Tax and Revenue says a business engaging in the District must collect District sales tax on sales of tangible personal property delivered to a customer in the District. The same FAQ lists the general sale rate at 6 percent. | https://otr.cfo.dc.gov/page/sales-and-use-tax-faqs |
The pin
The clean hands certificate does not write Not Home
The District is one territory. Cut the turf, then Start Knock or Log visit on the pin, including Not Home. Do Not Contact stays off the knock list and does not count toward coverage. Recording is opt-in. Consent comes before the file. Skip recording still logs the outcome. The score does not replace the logged outcome. Onboarding does not block knocks. A peddler license is not a Knockdesk product.
Knock log
Sample
- M418 Oak Ave2:14 PMMaya Chen · North turfAppointment
- J22 Harbor Rd2:41 PMJordan Hale · North turfNot home
Related
Keep going from the District code
- Laws hub
National topics and the other state pages sit on the laws hub.
- Full desk pricing
Full desk is on the pricing page.
- City solicitor permits
The card is local. A peddler license is not a Knockdesk product.
- Recording consent map
One-party consent beside D.C. Code 23-542.
- Door to door checklist
The visit log sits next to the cancel window and the consent prompt.
- Hawaii county cards
HRS 481C and the county offices, not one state badge.
- Idaho clerk licenses
The credit-code cancel and the city clerk cards.
FAQ
Frequently asked questions
What are door to door sales laws district of columbia on this page?
D.C. Code 28-3811 for the cancel window, D.C. Code 23-542 for one-party consent on a wire or oral communication, and the DLCP Solicitor activity. This is general information, not legal advice.
What is a solicitor permit district of columbia?
A solicitor permit district of columbia is the Solicitor activity DLCP publishes, with the photograph, bond, criminal history, and clean hands certificate. The Law Library marks D.C. Code 47-2835 as repealed. The District is the city.
What are door to door solicitation laws district of columbia?
Door to door solicitation laws district of columbia are that one District licensing office. Solicitor sits under General Sales and Services. Charitable Solicitation is a separate activity.
Can a District crew record the talk at the door?
D.C. Code 23-542 allows a party to intercept a wire or oral communication unless the purpose is criminal, tortious, or otherwise injurious. Knockdesk recording is opt-in. Consent comes before the file. Skip recording still logs the outcome.
Is this legal advice?
No. This page is general information, not legal advice. Open the code or the DLCP page, then talk to counsel for your crew.
How much does Knockdesk cost?
Full desk is on the pricing page. A free trial is not open.
The visit
Walk the District log, including Not Home.
We will walk how the team logs the District visit on the pin, including Not Home, and how consent is chosen before any file starts. Full desk is on the pricing page. This page is general information, not legal advice. A free trial is not open.
Book a Walkthrough