KnockDesk

door to door sales laws illinois

Door to door sales laws illinois for the city permit and the consent

Knockdesk is field sales software for teams that sell in person. A crew that looks up door to door sales laws illinois is reading the home solicitation cancel in 815 ILCS 505/2B, all-party consent for a surreptitious recording of a private conversation in 720 ILCS 5/14-2, and the city permit. This page is general information, not legal advice. The table is the statute map, not a ruling.

Book a Walkthrough
Illinois statutes for a home visit. Open the source. This is not a ruling.
FactFindingSource
Home solicitation or cooling-off815 ILCS 505/2B covers a sale of merchandise of $25 or more to a consumer when the seller is physically present at the consumer's residence. The consumer may avoid the sale by notifying the seller within 3 full business days following the day the contract was signed or the sale was made, and by returning the merchandise in its original condition. The seller must give a receipt or contract with a notice of cancellation and a detachable notice.https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/documents/081505050K2B.htm
In-person recording consent720 ILCS 5/14-2 makes it eavesdropping to use an eavesdropping device, in a surreptitious manner, to record a private conversation to which the person is a party, unless all other parties consent. Section 14-1 defines a private conversation as an oral communication between two or more persons, in person or transmitted by wire or other means, when a party intended it to be private. Surreptitious means stealth, deception, secrecy, or concealment. The rule is not phone-only.https://www.ilga.gov/documents/legislation/ilcs/documents/072000050K14-2.htm
Employee monitoring notice720 ILCS 5/14-3(j) requires a business that uses a telephone monitoring or recording system for telephone solicitation, for quality control, training, or internal research, with the consent of at least one active party, to give current and prospective employees notice that monitoring or recordings may occur, including prominent signage in the workplace, and to give access to a personal-only telephone line that is not monitored. That notice is for telephone solicitation monitoring. It does not state a notice rule for an in-person talk at the door.https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs4.asp?ActID=1876&ChapterID=53&SeqStart=34200000&SeqEnd=35400000
State solicitor or peddler licenseNot stated publicly on the home solicitation and eavesdropping pages for a statewide solicitor or peddler license. A solicitor permit illinois is the city card in the table. Chicago's peddler license is for a wagon, vehicle, or cart that continually moves, and that page does not publish a home door-to-door permit. A peddler license is not a Knockdesk product.https://www.chicago.gov/city/en/sites/chicago-business-licensing/home/peddlerlicense.html

The badge

The moving cart and the home permit

Teams that ask about door to door solicitation laws illinois are reading city rules. A solicitor permit illinois for a home visit is the Aurora clerk permit, the Naperville badge, the Joliet registration with the chief of police, or the Rockford solicitation license. Chicago's published peddler license is the moving cart, not that home card. The cart fee does not show which pins on the turf were Not Home.

City permit offices for Illinois.
CityPermit officeSource
ChicagoSmall Business Center peddler license for selling merchandise, or whole fruits or vegetables, from a wagon, vehicle, or cart that continually moves from place to place, and for performing. The page lists a $100 license fee, a two-year term, a photo identification card in person at City Hall, and an Illinois Department of Revenue account number. The page does not publish a home door-to-door solicitor permit.https://www.chicago.gov/city/en/sites/chicago-business-licensing/home/peddlerlicense.html
AuroraCity Clerk. The page lists $100 per 30 days, a maximum of six months per peddler in a calendar year, and a maximum of ten permits per company in a month. Each person applies, completes a background check, and picks the permit up in person.https://www.aurora.il.us/Property-Business/Business/Peddlers-and-Solicitors
NapervilleCommunity Services. All solicitors and peddlers must be permitted and wear a badge with name, company, and photo. The page says the ordinance requires the permit to go door to door, limits soliciting to Monday through Saturday from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., and bars peddling or soliciting on Sundays and on state or federal holidays.https://www.naperville.il.us/services/permits--licenses/solicitorspeddlersfood-vendorstag-days/
JolietChief of police. Section 22-38 says no person shall call at a residence to solicit orders, sales, subscriptions, or business without the occupant's previous consent unless the person first files a registration statement with the chief of police and gets a registration permit. A posted notice that solicitors are prohibited also bars the call.https://library.municode.com/il/joliet/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_CH22PESO
RockfordCustomer Service. Commercial home merchandising from dwelling to dwelling requires a solicitation license. The page says the license is good for 90 days and asks for photo identification, a photo, and a state background check. Charitable, political, and religious calls are not that license.https://www.rockfordil.gov/338/Solicitors-Peddlers-License

The sticker

A posted sticker, not one statewide address file

Naperville lets a resident post a no soliciting sign or pick up a free sticker. That is a sign, not an address registry. The other city pages in the table do not publish a resident no-knock address list. The Department of Revenue still taxes retail sales of tangible personal property.

No-knock registry and the Illinois sales tax.
FactFindingSource
Known no-knock registriesNot stated publicly as a resident address registry on the Chicago, Aurora, Joliet, or Rockford pages in this table. Naperville publishes a posted no soliciting sign and a free sticker. Joliet's code also honors a posted notice that solicitors are prohibited.https://www.naperville.il.us/services/permits--licenses/solicitorspeddlersfood-vendorstag-days/
Sales tax for in-home salesThe Illinois Department of Revenue says the Retailers' Occupation Tax is imposed on persons engaged in the business of selling tangible personal property at retail for use or consumption, and that sales tax is the common name for that tax plus the use tax the retailer collects.https://tax.illinois.gov/research/taxinformation/sales/rot.html

The file

All other parties, then the logged outcome

Chicago's moving-cart license does not write Not Home. Cut the turf and Start Knock or Log visit on the pin. Illinois bars a surreptitious recording of a private conversation, in person or by phone, unless the other parties consent. Knockdesk recording is opt-in. Consent comes before the file. Skip recording still logs the outcome. Onboarding does not block knocks.

Knock log

Sample

  • M418 Oak Ave2:14 PMMaya Chen · North turfAppointment
  • J22 Harbor Rd2:41 PMJordan Hale · North turfNot home

Related

Keep going from the Illinois cancel

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

What are door to door sales laws illinois on this page?

815 ILCS 505/2B for a sale of $25 or more when the seller is physically present at the residence, 720 ILCS 5/14-2 for all-party consent on a surreptitious private conversation, and the city permits. This is general information, not legal advice.

What is a solicitor permit illinois?

A solicitor permit illinois is a city permit. Aurora, Naperville, Joliet, and Rockford publish home-visit permits. Chicago's peddler page is a moving cart and does not publish a home door-to-door permit.

What are door to door solicitation laws illinois?

Door to door solicitation laws illinois are those city offices. Naperville also publishes a posted no soliciting sticker. That sticker is not a statewide address file.

Can an Illinois crew record the talk at the door?

720 ILCS 5/14-2 requires the consent of all other parties before a surreptitious recording of a private conversation, whether the talk is in person or by wire. Knockdesk recording is opt-in. Consent comes before the file. Skip recording still logs the outcome.

Is this legal advice?

No. This page is general information, not legal advice. Open the statute or the city page, then talk to counsel for your crew.

How much does Knockdesk cost?

Full desk is on the pricing page. A free trial is not open.

The consent

Walk the Illinois log before any file starts.

We will walk how the team logs the Illinois visit, including Not Home, and how consent is chosen before a file starts. Full desk is on the pricing page. This page is general information, not legal advice. A free trial is not open.

Book a Walkthrough