KnockDesk

door to door sales laws mississippi

Door to door sales laws Mississippi for a narrow chapter and a thin city layer

Knockdesk is field sales software for teams that sell in person. People looking up door to door sales laws mississippi find a real chapter that is narrow, and a city layer that is thin. Miss. Code 75-66-1 defines a home solicitation sale as a consumer credit sale personally solicited at the buyer's residence, so a cash sale is outside that definition on the page that opened. A solicitor permit mississippi is not one state card. This page is general information, not legal advice. The table is the statute map, not a ruling.

Book a Walkthrough
Mississippi statutes for a home visit. Open the source. This is not a ruling.
FactFindingSource
Home solicitation or cooling-offMiss. Code 75-66-1 limits a home solicitation sale to a consumer credit sale of goods or services, personally solicited at the buyer's residence, where the buyer agrees there. Consumer credit sale, on that page, means credit by a seller who regularly extends that kind of credit, to a person rather than an organization, for a personal, family, or household purpose, payable in installments or with a credit service charge. Miss. Code 75-66-3 lets the buyer cancel until midnight of the third business day after signing an agreement that complies with the chapter, unless the emergency exception applies.https://codes.findlaw.com/ms/title-75-regulation-of-trade-commerce-and-investments/ms-code-sect-75-66-3/
In-person recording consentMiss. Code 41-29-531(e) says the interception article does not apply to a person not acting under color of law who intercepts a wire, oral, or other communication if that person is a party, or if one party has given prior consent, unless the purpose is a criminal or tortious act or any other injurious act.https://law.justia.com/codes/mississippi/title-41/chapter-29/article-7/section-41-29-531/
State solicitor cardChapter 75-66 defines the consumer credit home solicitation sale and the cancel window. The sections that opened do not issue a solicitor card. The city pages are uneven, and several of them are thin.https://codes.findlaw.com/ms/title-75-regulation-of-trade-commerce-and-investments/ms-code-sect-75-66-1/

The city

The city layer is thin outside Biloxi

Door to door solicitation laws mississippi do not line up from city to city. Biloxi requires a license before a person peddles or solicits and states a fee and a bond. Gulfport publishes a mobile, peddler, and solicitor application and does not state the rules on that list. Southaven's opened form is a transient business license that cites Miss. Code 75-85, not a house-to-house card. Hattiesburg's chapter 17 is a transient vendor license that also cites Miss. Code 75-85. Jackson's business license page is a privilege license and does not describe a separate solicitor card.

Permit pages for Jackson, Gulfport, Southaven, Hattiesburg, and Biloxi. Open the city page.
CityPermit officeSource
JacksonThe Business Licensing Division page is a privilege license, with the office at 200 S. President St., Jackson, MS 39201. It does not describe a separate house-to-house solicitor card. The code library lists Chapter 94, Peddlers and Solicitors. That license page does not restate the chapter.https://jacksonms.gov/business/business-licenses/
GulfportBuilding Code Services publishes a Mobile/Peddler/Solicitor Privilege Tax License Application. The list page does not state a fee, hours, or a house-to-house rule.https://www.gulfport-ms.gov/departments/urban_development/building_code_services/
SouthavenThe opened form is an application for a privilege license to operate a transient business. It cites Miss. Code 75-85 and asks for a property owner permit. It reads as a located temporary sale, and it does not describe a house-to-house solicitor card.https://southaven.org/DocumentCenter/View/5271/Transient-Vendor
HattiesburgChapter 17 is a transient vendor license. The text cites Miss. Code 75-85, sets a $250 fee, and sets a $25 fee when the applicant is a licensed business in the city with a Mississippi sales tax number. The opened text does not define a house-to-house solicitor card.https://www.hattiesburgms.com/wp-content/uploads/chapter17.pdf
BiloxiThe ordinance says a peddler or solicitor applies for and holds a license before that activity in the city. Section 13-1-18 sets a $25 license fee and requires a solicitor to furnish a $1,000 bond.https://mcclibraryfunctions.azurewebsites.us/api/ordinanceDownload/10442/859244/pdf

The list

No address list on these city pages

The five city pages opened here do not publish a no-knock address list. That gap is part of how thin the city layer is. Sales tax is a separate permit on tangible personal property.

No-knock notes and the Mississippi sales tax note.
FactFindingSource
Known no-knock registriesThe Jackson, Gulfport, Southaven, Hattiesburg, and Biloxi pages opened here do not publish a no-knock address list a crew can download.https://jacksonms.gov/business/business-licenses/
Sales tax for in-home salesThe Department of Revenue says all sales of tangible personal property in Mississippi are subject to the regular retail rate of 7% unless the law exempts the item or provides a reduced rate. A permit or registration license is required before a business subject to sales tax begins, with a separate permit for each location.https://www.dor.ms.gov/business/sales-use-tax/mississippi-sales-and-use-taxes

The pin

A thin city card still needs the visit logged

Biloxi can ask for the bond. Gulfport can hand over a form with no hours on the list page. The territory still needs an outcome. Knockdesk logs the visit at 11 River Rd and 5 Oak Ave, including Not Home. Do Not Contact takes the address off the knock list and off coverage. Consent is the step before a recording file, and skip still logs the outcome. A score does not replace the outcome. Setup does not hold the first knock. The turf file can come in, and the visit file can go out.

Knock log

Sample

  • M418 Oak Ave2:14 PMMaya Chen · North turfAppointment
  • J22 Harbor Rd2:41 PMJordan Hale · North turfNot home

Related

Keep going from the Mississippi statute

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

What are door to door sales laws mississippi on this page?

Miss. Code 75-66-1 and 75-66-3 for a consumer credit home solicitation sale and the cancel window, Miss. Code 41-29-531 for recording, and a thin city layer. This is general information, not legal advice.

What is a solicitor permit mississippi?

A solicitor permit mississippi is not one state card. Biloxi requires a peddler or solicitor license, a $25 fee, and a $1,000 solicitor bond. Gulfport publishes an application and does not state the rules on that list. Jackson's opened page is a privilege license.

What are door to door solicitation laws mississippi?

Door to door solicitation laws mississippi are uneven. Biloxi states a peddler or solicitor license. Southaven and Hattiesburg publish transient vendor paperwork that cites Miss. Code 75-85. The other city pages opened here are thin on a house-to-house card.

Can a Mississippi crew record the talk at the door?

Miss. Code 41-29-531(e) allows a person who is a party to intercept unless the purpose is a criminal or tortious act or any other injurious act. Knockdesk still asks for consent before a recording file starts. Skip still logs the outcome.

Is this legal advice?

No. This page is general information, not legal advice. Open the statute or the city page, then talk to counsel for your crew.

How much does Knockdesk cost?

Full desk is on the pricing page. A free trial is not open.

The turf

Walk the Mississippi visit even when the city page is thin.

We will walk how the team logs the Mississippi visit, including Not Home, and how consent is chosen before a file starts. Do Not Contact stays off the knock list and off coverage. Full desk is on the pricing page. This page is not legal advice. A free trial is not open.

Book a Walkthrough